Why Kiambu MCA has resigned

Yvonne Waweru
Kiambu MCA Yvonne Waweru. PHOTO | COURTESY

A nominated member of the Kiambu County Assembly has resigned.

Yvonne Waweru announced her resignation on Tuesday via her Facebook, saying that she will seize being a member of the Assembly on January 15, 2021.

“I intend to go back to my profession in ocean governance in the Western Indian Ocean region which will not allow me to participate in politics and will hopefully allow me to serve my country in a different capacity,” she said.

The Western Indian Ocean region comprises 10 countries – Comoros, France, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa and Tanzania. Of these, five are mainland continental states, four are small island states, and one, Madagascar, combines elements of both.

As she exits the political scene, Waweru boasted of a number of development projects initiated since her nomination in September 2017.

“This indeed was performed to the best of my ability in view of my limited mandate as a specially-elected MCA,” Waweru said.

She thanked President Uhuru Kenyatta, who serves as the Jubilee Party leader, for giving her the opportunity to serve Kiambu residents for three years.

By K24Tv Team

Leave a Reply and Don't Forget to Save your Logins.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.